Sign In


No results found.


Please fill out all fields before searching.

Apprenticeship in Canada - Canadian Apprenticeship Forum

Apprenticeship Systems

Apprenticeship in Canada is regulated by each province and territory. Each apprenticeship system responds to the unique needs and expectations of their jurisdiction, and differences in geography, population, industry and economic reality create fundamentally different challenges and opportunities.

The winter 2011 issue of the Canadian Apprenticeship Journal features articles about jurisdictional apprenticeship systems and innovative initiatives.

Canada also has a standard of excellence known as the Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program. It is offered in 55 trades. Through the Program, tradespersons obtain an endorsement on their provincial/territorial certificates by successfully completing an interprovincial exam.

Apprentices should contact their regional offices with specific questions regarding their apprenticeship. This might include getting their credentials, having prior experience assessed, relocating or changing employers, as well as information about available grants and other supports.

Click on your province or territory to reach your jurisdiction’s website.

British Columbia
New Brunswick
Newfoundland and Labrador
Northwest Territories
Nova Scotia
Prince Edward Island

Additional apprenticeship information and resources are available via Apprenticeship in Canada and Apprenticeship 101

Yukon Northwest Territories Nunavut British Columbia Alberta Saskatchewan Manitoba Ontario Québec Newfoundland and Labrador New Brunswick Prince Edward Island Nova Scotia
Scroll to Top